Dr. June Interviews America The White House FEMA

President Donald J. Trump Approves North Carolina Disaster Declaration

Office of the Press Secretary

October 4, 2019

President Donald J. Trump Approves North Carolina Disaster Declaration

Today, President Donald J. Trump declared that a major disaster exists in the State of North Carolina and ordered Federal aid to supplement State and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by Hurricane Dorian from September 1 to September 9, 2019.

Federal funding is available to State and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by Hurricane Dorian in the counties of Brunswick, Carteret, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Hyde, Jones, New Hanover, Pamlico, Pender, Sampson, Tyrrell, and Washington.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Pete Gaynor, Acting Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Department of Homeland Security, named Elizabeth Turner as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected areas.

Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the State and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *